Receive in-app ELD alerts
This article describes the types of alerts that you might see in the LogBook mobile app and under which conditions you might see them.
LogBook supports the following alerts:
- Admin proposals -Alerts about changes that your administrator is proposing to make to your logs
- Unidentified miles - Alerts about driving periods that your vehicle recorded but that are not assigned to a driver
- Warnings and violations - Alerts about violating or getting close to violating your permitted hours of service (HOS)
- Certifications - Alerts about logs that need to be certified
The app also alerts you when it passes or fails a diagnostic check.
On the Dashboard, alerts are displayed in the lower part of the screen.
In addition, in the app header the Alerts icon notifies you of alerts. Tap the icon to view a list of alerts.
When you close an alert on Android, the app returns to the Dashboard.
Admin proposals warn you about changes that your administrator is proposing to make to your logs. You can accept or reject the proposed change. If you accept a change, the change is made to your log. You must then re-certify that log.
Unidentified mile alerts warn you about driving periods that your vehicle has recorded but that are not assigned to a driver. This alert can be raised when you, or another driver using the vehicle, were not logged in to LogBook or had no Bluetooth connection while driving the vehicle.
The alert with the title "Unidentified miles for this vehicle" is raised immediately after a vehicle records unidentified miles. You will see the alert when you connect to the vehicle.
You might also receive an alert with the title "Miles assigned to you" when your administrator has proposed unidentified miles to you because you were likely to be the driver.
If you drove the vehicle during the time period stated in the alert, you can accept the miles to your log. If you did not drive the vehicle during the time period stated, you can reject the miles.
Warnings and violations
Warning and violation alerts warn you when you are close to violating, or are in violation of, HOS rules.
Amber alerts warn you that you are approaching a violation. Red alerts warn you that you are in violation. The alert text provides specific detail about the violation.
To close the alert, tap the X button.
Certification alerts inform you about logs that need to be certified. For more information, see Certify your logs.