Verizon Connect Reveal data retention rules

This article explains how long Verizon Connect retains Reveal customer data, what happens to your data when it is removed, and the rights you have to access and control your data while either an active Verizon Connect customer or after ending your contract with Verizon Connect.

In this article:

Terminology

To understand Verizon Connect’s data retention rules, it’s important to define the terminology we use:

Active Customer - Refers to customers that have access to a current and enabled account on our platform. An active customer has a current contract in place.

Canceled Customer - Refers to customers that have had their account suspended or otherwise intentionally disabled because they no longer wish to use the software and are ending, or have ended, their contractual relationship with Verizon Connect.

Non-Transactional Data - Refer to metadata about people or things tracked and managed in our platform, and is typically supplied directly by the customer.

Transactional Data - This is event data that is generated as a function of using our platform and gathered naturally over time. This includes data such as GPS points, customer locations, or the content of driver forms as they are completed.

Data Retention Period - This is the length of time data is retained on Verizon Connect systems. Note that this might differ from the period of time that such data is actually accessible to customers via user interfaces.

Removed - This means that data is securely deleted or irrevocably anonymized. Once data is removed from our platform it cannot be recovered by Verizon Connect, or anyone else.

 

Data types

Verizon Connect stores two types of data: Transactional Data and Non-Transactional Data.

Transactional data types

Transactional Data information is data that is generated as a function of using our platform to manage fleet operations.

Examples of Transactional Data include:

  • GPS point history data
  • Alerts
  • Jobs and associated details
  • Data collected via forms and custom fields
  • History linked to a data subject
  • Any other event data that is collected as a result of using our platform
  • IP addresses and browser cookies

Non-Transactional Data types

Non-transactional Data is metadata that is used to provide context when using our products. Examples of this data include:

  • Driver, user and customer details
  • Full names or usernames
  • Email addresses
  • Mailing addresses
  • Phone numbers
  • Places and geofences
  • Route planning scenarios or templates
  • Organizational structure details, such as who workers report to
  • Other pseudonymous end user identifiers
  • Aggregated or anonymized data of any kind

 

Data retention for Active Customers

Customers in the EU

Non-transactional Data is maintained for as long as you remain an Active Customer. To comply with General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements, the default Data Retention Period for location data (data that can be used to track the location of an individual) is 13 months, after which this data is Removed. If your history setting is configured to a value lower than this, the lower value is respected.

GPS location data required for Tachograph compliance is automatically retained as needed.

Customers outside of the EU

Non-Transactional Data is maintained for as long as you remain an Active Customer. The default Data Retention Period for Transactional Data is determined by your data plan and location. (The default is 13 months). If you have a specified Data Retention Period defined in your contract, that time period will govern the retention of your data. Upon the expiration of this Data Retention Period, all Transactional Data will be removed.

How data retention rules effects Reveal

In Reveal, this means the following:

  • In Places, you will only see stop information for stops that occurred during the Data Retention Period.

  • On the Alerts Overview and Alerts Log tabs, you will only see information about alerts policies that were triggered during the Data Retention Period.

  • You can only run and schedule reports for dates that fall within the Data Retention Period only.
    For Reveal Field (Scheduler), you can still run reports on jobs outside the data retention plan. In this case, we are only pulling information about the work done.

  • Your dashboards will only show information from within the Data Retention Period.

  • If you are an Integrated Video customer, you will only see videos that were recorded during the Data Retention Period. All videos are permanently Removed once the Data Retention Period has been exceeded.

  • Keurmerk subscribers’ data is retained in accordance with Dutch policy for 7 years.

  • German customers have access to 365 days of Fahrtenbuch data.

  • Downloaded tachograph files are maintained separately and are retained according to tachograph regulations: 3 years in Ireland, 2 years in the UK and rest of Europe.

  • In Logbook, hours of service (HOS) data for 1 year and it is available for the prior 6 months in the mobile app.

For Reveal Manager app users, the following restrictions apply:

  • In Replay, you can only view vehicle activities for dates that fall within the Data Retention Period.
  • In the Alerts log, you only see alerts triggered within the Data Retention Period.
  • The Scorecard date picker only shows options within the Data Retention Period.

In the Reveal Driver app, the following restrictions apply:

  • In the Driver Scorecard, you only see information about speeding violations and harsh driving events that occur during the Data Retention Period.

 

Data retention for Canceled Customers

All data for Cancelled Customers is removed within one year of their cancellation date. This includes the following:

  • Non-transactional Data
  • Transactional Data that may remain as an artifact of our data retention policies for Active Customers

 

Requesting data for Active and Canceled Customers

You can request data that is not readily available via the user interfaces of our applications if it has not been purged according to the rules set out above. For customers outside of the EU, we store data for 5 years. We are happy to support requests for data that is only retrievable upon request, for a fee. Please contact Customer Support for custom extraction requests.

 

Changing your data plan

To change your data plan, speak with Customer Support or your Customer Success Manager to discuss available options.

If you extend the Data Retention Period, you cannot recover deleted data.

 


Was this article helpful?


4 out of 6 found this helpful