Customer Privacy Requests (CCPA and CPRA) in Reveal

The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) and California Privacy Rights Act (CPRA) require that companies holding Personally Identifiable Information (PII) such as name and contact details, and Sensitive Personal Information (SPI) such as SSN, driver license number, biometric information or geolocation, provide information about this data if requested. In other words, they must provide a mechanism for customers to obtain a copy of the personal information stored about themselves.

To meet this obligation, Verizon Connect users in North America can request a JSON manifest file detailing a customer’s personal information collected by, and stored in, Verizon Connect Reveal. This file contains personal data covering a period of up to 1 year. After a privacy request has been processed, this JSON file is available to download for 7 days.

The content below describes the steps required to view, make, and cancel customer privacy requests in Verizon Connect Reveal.

Viewing customer privacy requests

You can view customer privacy requests if you have the appropriate permissions. Accounts with administrator rights have permission by default and can grant permission to other users.

To view customer privacy requests that you have made in the past:

  1. In the upper right corner of the Reveal screen, click Help.

  2. From the drop-down list, choose Privacy Request.

  3. The list contains all privacy requests that you have made for your customers’ data.

  4. To see more details about a customer privacy request, click VIEW in the appropriate row.

    Personal_Information_Requests.png

The details contain the following information:

  • Download request download_request_icon.png with a unique identification number.

  • Requester’s name: The name of the user who made the request.

  • Requester’s email: The email address of the user who made the request.

  • Request date: The date when the request was made.

  • Complete date: The date when the request was completed, if complete.

  • Name: The name of the person who the request is made for. (Shown if the name was specified as an identification method when making a request).

  • Email: The email address of the person who the request is made for. (Shown if the email address was specified as an identification method when making a request).

  • Phone: The phone number of the person who the request is made for. (Shown if the phone number was specified as a personal identifier when making a request).

  • Time period requested: The time period for which the personal information was requested.

  • The privacy request’s status, which can be one of the following: Pending, Complete, Overdue, or Canceled.

  • DOWNLOAD JSON: This button is displayed for requests that are complete and is available for 7 days from when the request was completed.

  • CANCEL REQUEST: This button is displayed for requests that can be canceled: requests with a status of Pending or Overdue, and requests that have a status of Complete and were completed within the past 7 days.

Note

An Additional Personal Information section at the bottom of each request also includes links to other Reveal components that might contain PII, such as GPS coordinates in reports, video recordings created using Integrated Video, and Logbook driver reports. This information is not included in privacy request files and must be retrieved separately. See Requesting additional personal information.

Making a customer privacy request

You can make customer privacy requests if you have the appropriate permissions. Accounts with administrator rights have permission by default and can grant permission to other users.

To make a customer privacy request:

  1. In the upper right corner of the Reveal screen, click Help.

  2. From the drop-down list, choose Privacy Request.

  3. Click NEW PRIVACY REQUEST. The personal information request form opens.

    PI_request.png
  4. Make sure that the details shown under Who is making the request? are correct. If your details are incorrect, click on your account name in the upper right corner of the screen, select Settings > User and correct your details. When you return to the Customer Privacy Requests page and restart the new privacy request, your details are automatically updated.

  5. If your details are correct, select the check box next to Click to confirm that all of your information above is accurate.

  6. Enter at least one field to identify the customer you want to make the request for (first and last name, email address, or phone number). To get the best search results, enter as many of your customer’s details as possible and make sure that the fields use the same spelling used in Fleet. If you enter a first name you must also specify a last name.

  7. Click SEARCH. A list of subjects that match the details you entered is shown.

    Data_subjects.png
  8. Select the subject of the privacy request from those listed and then click SUBMIT . You can only request data for one person at a time. The bottom of the page expands to show more information.

  9. Enter the date range of the request. The date range must be within the past 1 year.

    Request_details.png
  10. Select the check box next to the following text, to show agreement: “I am submitting this request for personal information (PI) related to an individual consumer of my company who has made a request for this PI to my company. I understand that I will be responsible for security of the PI provided and for providing it to the requesting consumer.”

  11. Click SUBMIT. A confirmation message is displayed and an email notification is sent to you, confirming this request. This is followed by another email when the request has been completed.

    Request_confirmation.png
  12. Click DONE. You are returned to the privacy request list, which now includes your new request. Click VIEW to see the status of the request, to download the privacy file once it is available, or to cancel the request.

Requesting additional personal information

Other personal information about a data subject may exist depending on your account subscription. This information is not included in the downloaded file and must be retrieved separately.

GPS information

If you think there is GPS information about the data subject, it can be found in the Detailed Report. To run the report, go to Reports and run a Detailed Report for the data subject.

For more information, see the Detailed Report help article.

Video recordings linked to the data subject

If you have Integrated Video, go to Video, search for the data subject and download the relevant videos.

For more information, read the Download Videos from Reveal article.

Logbook information

If you think there is Logbook information about the data subject, it can be found in the Driver Log Report. To run the report, go to Reports and run a Driver Log Report for the data subject.

For more information, read the Driver Log Report help article.

Canceling a customer privacy request

You can cancel customer privacy requests if you have the appropriate permissions. Accounts with administrator rights have permission by default and can grant permission to other users.

Requests can be canceled if they are pending or if they were completed less than 7 days ago.

To cancel a customer privacy request:

  1. In the upper right corner of the Reveal screen, click Help.

  2. From the drop-down list, choose Privacy Request.

  3. Click VIEW next to the request that you want to cancel. The request can have a status of Pending or Overdue.

  4. Click CANCEL REQUEST in the lower left corner of the open detail view.

Note

To correct inaccurate Personally Identifiable Information (PII) returned as part of a privacy request, edit this information directly within Reveal (for example, driver names, phone numbers, or email addresses). To permanently delete this data, manually remove the related user or driver account. Note that only data that has been classified as PII and that is returned as part of a privacy request is deleted (that is, not information that might have been incorrectly manually entered elsewhere). Deletion of this information is permanent and cannot be recovered.


Was this article helpful?


70 out of 88 found this helpful