Receive in-app ELD alerts

Leer en Español

This article lists the types of alerts that you might see in the LogBook mobile app and under which conditions you might see them. It also describes how to view and dismiss the alerts on the Alerts screen.

Types of alerts

LogBook supports the following alerts:

  • Carrier edits
    • When your administrator makes changes to your ELD logs, an alert is shown as a banner on the Dashboard screen and on the Alerts screen under NOTIFICATIONS.
    • Administrators can change your ELD logs by adding a new status or changing an existing status. You can accept or reject the proposed changes.
    • Alert text: “[admin name] proposed [driver name] a new status”.
      img-en-us-lb_carrier_edit_message.png

    • See Accept or reject carrier edits for more information.

  • Unidentified miles
    • Alerts about unidentified miles are shown as a banner on the Dashboard screen and on the Alerts screen under NOTIFICATIONS.
    • When the LogBook app detects driving time for your vehicle at a time when no driver was assigned to the vehicle, the alert text is: “Unidentified miles for this vehicle”.
      img-en-us-lb_um_vehicle_message.png

    • When your administrator assigns driving time to you because you were likely to be the driver, the alert text is: “Miles assigned to you”.
      img-en-us-lb_um_assigned_message.png

    • See Accept or reject unidentified miles for more information.

  • Warnings and violations
    • Alerts for warnings and violations are shown as a banner on the Dashboard screen and on the Alerts screen under NOTIFICATIONS.
    • Warning banners inform you that you are approaching a violation of your permitted hours of service (HOS). Violation banners inform you that you are in violation of your HOS.
    • The alert text on the Alerts screen provides specific details about the violation or warning.
      img-en-us-lb_violation_message.png

    • To remove the alert from the notification list, tap the x button (on Android devices) or Delete button (on iOS devices). On Android devices, confirm that you want to delete the alert. This action automatically closes the banner for the same alert.

    • See Troubleshoot violations and warnings for more information.
  • Certifications
    • Alerts about logs that need to be certified are shown on the Alerts screen under UNCERTIFIED LOGS. Tap REVIEW LOG to go to the Status Log screen, or tap SIGN LOG to certify your log for the specified day.
      img-en-us-lb_uncertified_message.png

    • See Certify your logs for more information.

  • Diagnostic events and malfunctions
    • All diagnostic events and malfunctions, apart from engine sync diagnostic events, are shown as a banner on the Dashboard screen until the banner is closed. All diagnostic events and malfunctions are shown on the Active Malfunctions and Diagnostic screen until the issue no longer applies.
      img-en-us-lb_diagnostic_malfunction_message.png

    • See Troubleshoot ELD diagnostics events and malfunctions for more information on the actions that you must take as a driver when diagnostics or malfunctions are raised.

View alerts

On the Dashboard, alerts are displayed as a banner in the lower part of the screen:

img-en-us-lb_dashboard_warning.png

In the app header the alerts icon shows the number of active alerts that you have. Tap the Alerts img-en-us-lb_alert_icon32.png icon to view a list of your alerts.

Proposed changes to your ELD logs, unidentified miles, warnings, and violations are shown on the NOTIFICATIONS tab. Alerts about logs that need to be certified are shown on the UNCERTIFIED LOGS tab.

img-en-us-lb_carrier_edit_in_notifications.png

Dismiss alerts

Alerts for changes to your ELD logs and unidentified miles are removed from the NOTIFICATIONS list when you have accepted or rejected them.

Alerts for warnings and violations are removed from the NOTIFICATIONS list when you tap the x button (on Android devices) or Delete button (on iOS devices) next to them and confirm that you want to delete the notification. This action also closes the banner for the same alert.

Alerts for uncertified logs are removed from the UNCERTIFIED LOGS list when you have signed the log.


Was this article helpful?


8 out of 16 found this helpful